PR Christmas Wish

It’s been a while. I’ve been meaning to get back to writing, but . . . well, there’s been a million reasons why I haven’t.  But here I am again, with a thought or two. Pardon me for breaking from my usual case study format.

This weekend I was having a conversation with my son about his plans after he graduates college in May.  He’s a film major, and I worry about his future employment.  It’s not so much a reflection on his career choice as it is a mom thing. After all, my husband and I like our empty nest.  So periodically I ask him what he believes his options are.

And I always get the same response.  First comes the eye roll, followed by the huff, and the brief brush-off finale. But, I am not satisfied with this ending.  So I push back, and demand a rewrite and throw out “What About . . .?” scenarios.

When he started college 3 1/2 years ago, all I got was a bunch of “nopes” to my ideas.  But, as the years race by, I notice a change.  There are more “maybes” and contemplative agreement than there used to be.

Except for one.  No advertising or PR.  “Sorry, Mom.  But marketing and PR is soulless. I’m not the only one.” That’s an actual quote. Cue the knife in gut.

“Soulless? Really?” I wonder to myself.

I’m surprised by his harsh words because he hates it when people criticize his career path. He now knows he probably won’t be the next Spielberg, Scorsese or Tarantino.  But he has discovered that he loves working on documentaries and editing.  Both, I might add, are two things he scoffed at a couple of years back when I mentioned them.

But, even more than surprised, I’m hurt. It pains me to know that while he’s proud of me for going back to school as an adult and getting my degree, he feels that my  lifelong work in marketing and my chosen PR degree is “soulless”.

That is not how I want anyone, especially my kids, to see me or my chosen profession. So, my wish is we can all be the kind of professionals that work toward changing the opinion.

In the days leading up to Christmas, I will be exploring this notion that marketing and PR is “soulless” in holiday themes.  We’ll look at holiday movies, television shows and books and present them as case studies.

I’m calling this series “My PR Christmas Wish”.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

