Scrooged alone proves my hypothesis

I can’t believe that it took me this long to figure out that there is one movie alone that proves my hypothesis that communications professionals are the “new Scrooges” of modern holiday films, shows and books.

Early this morning I was scrolling through Netflix to plan my next post when what to my wondering eyes should appear, but a much younger, silly-grinning Bill Murray staring straight at me.

large_3byunb2byfqclocyu24tw2ct8ws

Photo courtesy of Google

Scrooged (1988, Paramount Pictures, Mirage Productions) is the modern version of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol that replaces the main character of the penny-pinching, grumpy Scrooge with television executive Frank Xavier “Frank” Cross.

Just like Scrooge, Frank makes his employees work on Christmas Eve.

Just like Scrooge, Frank is visited by three ghosts who show Frank exactly what kind of person that he has became.

And just like Scrooge, Frank ends up realizing that he needs to change his life in order to save Christmas and himself.

If this film alone doesn’t prove my hypothesis, then I don’t know what does. But, for my hypothesis to be really proven true, we need more than one film, show or book. This is #6.  How many more will there be? I plan on continuing “My Christmas PR wish” series right up until December 23, so there will be at least a few more.

Check back on Monday, December 12 for the next installment.

And don’t forget to check out my guest blog tomorrow on StephJ’s Scale It Simple “Festive Feelings Blog Party” with my story “Losing Ziggy”. I’m so honored that StephJ asked me to join in on her fun idea! 

 

Leave a Reply

