Whoa, there!

I admit it.  I’m a bit of a “grammar Nazi.”  I cringe every time I see “your and you’re” misused, among other common spelling and speech errors.

But I really think that if you are in the communications field, proper grammar is essential. Marketers, journalists and public relations pros ought to be champions of proper language skills.

Unlike this ad that appeared in my Facebook news feed this morning.

misspelling1

Screenshot of a Sponsored Old Navy Ad as it appeared on my own Facebook news feed on Jan. 13, 2017

Can you spot the grammar error(s)?

  1. First off, what in the world does “Clearance Like Woah” mean? Okay, I know what it means. But what kind of sentence structure is that? And couldn’t they come up with something better than that?
  2. Whoa, there.  “Whoa” is spelled like that, not “woah.” Really, Old Navy marketers? Spellcheck wasn’t working for you when you wrote the copy for that “sentence”?

Honestly, I don’t know why that ad is bothering me so much today.  It’s not the first time I’ve seen ads butcher grammar, and I suspect that it won’t be the last.

It’s not like I’m totally against using language that “speaks” to the people.  After all, what good is your communication if the people can’t understand what you’re trying to say?

But, somehow, it still bothers me for a whole bunch of reasons that I won’t share because it will sound too much like a lecture or rant.

I’d really like to know what you think about the topic. Weigh in.

As always, thank for following, commenting and sharing.

 

Leave a Reply

